The Enchanté Network is calling for increased federal investment in 2SLGBTQ+ community, health and social service organizations providing essential services that promote and protect human rights.

 

Our network includes over 120 pride centres and 2SLGBTQ+ service providing organizations. Every day, we see the impact these organizations have on 2SLGBTQ+ communities — communities disproportionately impacted by homelessness, poverty, mental health issues, and violence. 

Currently, the federal government is developing the first-ever LGBTQ2 National Action Plan.

On this page, we seek to highlight two key calls to action that were in our network’s written submission for the Action Plan that we believe are essential to advancing the health, safety and rights of 2SLGBTQ+ communities.

 

Here are our network’s two calls to action:

1. $25M in annual federal funding dedicated to 2SLGBTQ+ organizations.

From the food security programs at the 519, to affordable housing referrals run by OUTSaskatoon to the cultural supports offered by the Edmonton 2 Spirit Society —  our members are doing lifesaving frontline community work every day. Pride centres are hubs in their communities. These organizations are where a queer youth will turn when they are bullied. They are where a trans person can visit for support with finding employment, or affordable housing. When these organizations are underfunded, their ability to deliver these services is deeply weakened.

 

After decades of chronic underfunding, 2SLGBTQ+ organizations were optimistic about the $20M invested by the government in the 2019 budget. The creation of the LGBTQ2 Community Capacity Fund was labelled by many activists and leaders as an historic step forward. However, the 2021 federal budget included only $15M stretched over three years, for the entire country. This is an insufficient amount of funding for 2SLGBTQ+ organizations. 

 

The Enchanté Network is calling for the federal government to invest $25M annually in the LGBTQ2 Capacity Fund. 

 

In particular, we are calling for the following items to be funded by the Government of Canada:

 

  • Core, multi-year funding for 2SLGBTQ+ organizations that deliver frontline services on the grounds of gender and sexual diversity; 
  • Dedicated, multi-year funding specific to 2SLGBTQ+ organizations.
  • Capacity building funding for 2SLGBTQ+ organizations (including for rural and remote communities without access to services, and organizations that  were not able to access the previous round of funding);

  • Allocate funding for national networks to support,sustain and grow sector-widecapacity and collaboration across 2SLGBTQ+ community, health and social services. 

There is a federal responsibility to ensure that human rights to access lifesaving services related to gender and sexuality are upheld. Through core operational funding, ongoing program and project funding, enhanced funding for capacity building, and resources to national networks to support implementation and coordination, 2SLGBTQ+ community organizations will be better equipped to meet the needs of their communities, and address the root causes of systemic inequities.

2. The LGBTQ2 Secretariat requires permanent federal funding.

Prior to the creation of the LGBTQ2 Secretariat, only a handful of our members had any relationships with the federal government. Now, many more 2SLGBTQ+ organizations feel they have been engaged within government processes. This has been a huge success of the federal government in terms of demonstrating to the country that LGBTQ2 communities mattered. 

 

The Secretariat plays a key role in making up for decades of queer organizations being left out of federal policy and decision-making spaces. Because there is no federal department that focuses on LGBTQ2 communities, the Secretariat is even more essential — without their work, there would be no internal champion. Further, the Government of Canada still has a considerable amount of work to do to make internal processes and funding programs accessible to our 2SLGBTQ+ communities and organizations. Having a body that is there to support organizations like ours is key to continuing this forward momentum. 

 

Our network would like to applaud the government for the creation of the Secretariat. The Secretariat has been instrumental in supporting our efforts in helping the Government of Canada to better support 2SLGBTQ+ communities. The Secretariat has helped us navigate various processes and bodies in the federal government in order to enact positive changes that will allow our members to build organizational capacity. 

 

The Enchanté Network is calling for the work of the LGBTQ2 Secretariat to be preserved by receiving permanent federal funding.

Call for solidarity: how can other people and organizations help?

  • You can share our campaign visuals on social media and with others in your network.
  • Write to Minister Chagger and share the need for increased funding for 2SLGBTQ+ community, health and social services.

Acknowledgements:

Thank you to all the Enchanté Network members who have spoken with us over the past year about their struggles in securing stable funding. All of the work we do is in support of our over 120 members across Canada.

We would also like to give a special thanks to Wisdom2Action for their work supporting this campaign.

Le réseau Enchanté lance des appels à l’action pour que le gouvernement fédéral investisse davantage dans les organisations communautaires, de santé et de services sociaux 2SLGBTQ+ qui offrent des services essentiels pour promouvoir et protéger les droits de la personne.

 

Notre réseau comprend plus de 120 centres de fierté et organisations de services 2SLGBTQ+. Chaque jour, nous constatons l’impact de ces organisations sur les communautés 2SLGBTQ+ – des communautés touchées de manière disproportionnée par l’itinérance, la pauvreté, les problèmes de santé mentale et la violence.   

Actuellement, le gouvernement fédéral est en train d’élaborer le tout premier Plan d’action national LGBTQ2.

Sur cette page web, nous cherchons à mettre en évidence deux appels à l’action clés qui figuraient dans la soumission écrite de notre réseau pour le plan d’action que nous croyons essentiels à l’avancement de la santé, de la sécurité et des droits des communautés 2SLGBTQ +.

 

 

Voici nos deux appels à l’action pour le gouvernment fédéral:

1. 25 millions de dollars de financement fédéral annuel dédié aux organisations 2SLGBTQ+.

Qu’il s’agisse des programmes de sécurité alimentaire du 519, de l’aiguillage vers des logements abordables géré par OUTSaskatoon ou du soutien culturel offert par Edmonton 2 Spirit Society, nos membres effectuent chaque jour un travail communautaire de première ligne important. Les centres de la fierté sont des carrefours dans leurs communautés. Ces organismes sont l’endroit où une jeune personne queer peut se tourner lorsqu’elle est victime d’intimidation. C’est là qu’une personne transgenre peut se rendre pour obtenir du soutient pour trouver un emploi ou un logement abordable. Lorsque ces organismes sont sous-financés, leur capacité à fournir ces services est profondément affaiblie.

 
Après des décennies de sous-financement chronique, les organisations 2SLGBTQ+ étaient optimistes quant aux 20M$ investis par le gouvernement dans le budget fédéral de 2019. La création du Fonds de capacité communautaire LGBTQ2 a été qualifiée, par de nombreux militants et leaders, d’une avancée historique. Cependant, le budget fédéral de 2021 ne prévoit que 15M$ pour trois ans, pour l’ensemble du pays. C’est un montant insuffisant pour les organisations 2SLGBTQ+. 
 

Le réseau Enchanté demande au gouvernement fédéral d’investir 25 millions de dollars par année dans le Fonds de capacité LGBTQ2.

 

En particulier, nous demandons que les éléments suivants soient financés par le gouvernement du Canada :

  • Un financement de base, pluriannuel pour les organisations 2SLGBTQ+ qui fournissent des services de première ligne sur la base de la diversité sexuelle et de genre; 
  • Financement pluriannuel dédié aux organisations 2SLGBTQ+;
  • Un financement pour le renforcement des capacités des organisations 2SLGBTQ+ (y compris pour les communautés rurales et éloignées qui n’ont pas accès aux services et pour les organisations qui n’ont pas pu accéder au cycle de financement précédent) ;
  • Allouer des fonds aux réseaux nationaux afin de soutenir, de maintenir et d’accroître la capacité du secteur et la collaboration entre les services sociaux, de santé et communautaires 2SLGBTQ+.

Le gouvernement fédéral a la responsabilité de veiller à ce que les droits de la personne à accéder à des services vitaux liés au genre et à la sexualité soient respectés. Grâce à un financement opérationnel de base, à un financement continu de programmes et de projets, à un financement accru pour le renforcement des capacités et à des ressources destinées aux réseaux nationaux pour soutenir la mise en œuvre et la coordination, les organisations communautaires 2SLGBTQ+ seront mieux équipées pour répondre aux besoins de leurs communautés et s’attaquer aux causes profondes des inégalités systémiques.

2. Le Secrétariat LGBTQ2 a besoin d'un financement fédéral permanent.

Avant la création du Secrétariat LGBTQ2, seuls certains de nos membres avaient des relations avec le gouvernement fédéral. Maintenant, beaucoup plus d’organisations 2SLGBTQ+ ont le sentiment d’avoir été engagées dans les processus gouvernementaux. Le gouvernement fédéral a ainsi réussi à démontrer au pays que les communautés LGBTQ2 sont importantes. 

 

Le Secrétariat joue un rôle clé en compensant le fait que, pendant des décennies, les organisations queer ont été laissées à l’écart des espaces politiques et décisionnels fédéraux. Étant donné qu’aucun ministère fédéral ne s’occupe des communautés LGBTQ2, le Secrétariat est encore plus essentiel – sans son travail, il n’y aurait pas de champion interne au sein du gouvernement fédéral. De plus, le gouvernement du Canada a encore beaucoup de travail à faire pour rendre les processus internes et les programmes de financement accessibles à nos communautés et organisations 2SLGBTQ+. L’existence d’un organisme qui soutient les organisations comme la nôtre est essentielle pour continuer sur cette lancée. 

 

Notre réseau tient à féliciter le gouvernement pour la création du Secrétariat. Le Secrétariat a joué un rôle déterminant dans nos efforts d’aider le gouvernement du Canada à mieux soutenir les communautés 2SLGBTQ+. Le Secrétariat nous a aidés à naviguer dans les divers processus et organes du gouvernement fédéral afin d’adopter des changements positifs qui permettront à nos membres de renforcer leur capacité organisationnelle. 

 

Le réseau Enchanté demande que le travail du Secrétariat LGBTQ2 soit préservé en recevant un financement fédéral permanent.

Appel à la solidarité : comment les autres personnes et organisations peuvent-elles aider ?

  • Vous pouvez partager les visuels de la campagne sur les médias sociaux et dans vos réseaux.
  • Écrivez à la ministre Chagger pour lui faire part de la nécessité d’augmenter le financement des services sociaux, de santé et communautaires 2SLGBTQ+.

Remerciements :

Merci à tous les membres du réseau Enchanté qui nous ont parlé, au cours de la dernière année, de leurs difficultés à obtenir un financement stable. Tout le travail que nous faisons est dans le but de soutenir nos plus de 120 membres à travers le Canada.

Nous tenons également à remercier tout particulièrement Wisdom2Action pour son soutien à cette campagne.